Striking out on Field Research – What’s in your bag?

The last couple of months for me have been dedicated to finishing Ph.D. qualifying exams, advancing to candidacy, moving out of my apartment, and most importantly, preparing for ethnomusicological fieldwork in Ecuador! It’s an exciting time in any graduate student’s career, albeit exhausting and nerve-wrecking. I left California on Thursday afternoon and three flights, two long layovers, and 26 hours later, landed in Quito. If you ever fly to Quito, I recommend arriving during daylight hours, because the view overlooking the city and Pichincha (the volcano) was fantastic!

As I stood in Ecuadorian customs last night, a surreal feeling washed over me. I was no longer the young girl who dreamed of getting into college and traveling for my studies, or the graduate student trying to narrow down her interests and decide what direction to take or what to study and where. The research was no longer something that only existed on paper in grant applications and study proposals, and the sounds and smells of Ecuador were no longer figments of my imagination, but now familiar and comforting after two previous trips to Ecuador. I finally reached this moment in my life when all sorts of dreaming, hoping, planning, and contemplating materialized right before me.

For my first full day back to Ecuador, I’m hanging out in Quito before traveling to Otavalo tomorrow morning. My original plan was to spend some of the afternoon walking around the Historical Center of Quito, but some storms moved in (as they often do). Instead, I’ll be hanging out indoors, listening to the rains and thunder, which I’ve been deprived of since moving to southern California 3.5 years ago, and starting up my fieldwork blog.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

(two pictures from my last stay in Quito in August 2011)

For starters, I figured I’d start with the basics: Preparing for fieldwork and assembling the field kit.

When I began brainstorming how I would like to update my field kit, I came across this anthropology blog:

What’s in your bag? http://savageminds.org/2007/08/13/whats-in-your-fieldwork-bag/

I couldn’t find a similar blogpost by an ethnomusicologist or someone more focused on documenting sound when I googled some keywords, but I felt like this was still helpful, as were the notes taken in my field methods lab seminar and my discussions with other friends and professors in the field. Still, once I went out seriously looking to purchase equipment, the price tags, reviews, sizes, accessories, etc. became another project of sorting through information. Below I have outlined some decisions I had to make, along with a list of what I have packed and dragged with me. See my comment on this post for an extended discussion about these items.

A Modest Budget:
In general, I decided that sticking to a modest budget was necessary for the type of work I will be doing. I saved a decent amount of money by living frugally during graduate school, but while I was preparing my field kit, I had not yet heard back from the main grant I applied to for support next year. Therefore, I had to anticipate having to self-fund the bulk of my dissertation field research just in case other sources of funding did not come through for me (thankfully I was notified last week I will be receiving the grant I was hoping for!).

Based on the end goals of my research and the projected venues for presenting my  materials and documentation, I knew I needed to find equipment that was affordable, easy to use, and would still give decent results. Another important point to take into consideration was that while conducting research in (mostly rural but sometimes urban) Latin America, I knew that large, flashy, high-end and expensive equipment would draw more unwanted attention to myself than in some other parts of the world. Getting mugged for a fancy device or being obtrusive or intimidating while documenting in the field are two things I definitely want to avoid while I’m here. Therefore, I’ve stuck with reliable and well-reviewed items that are not top of the line or the most recent models.

The Luggage
• Samsonite Suitcase
• Victorinox backpack with laptop sleeve (slightly larger than a normal Jansport backpack)

The Kit and Materials
• My violin and a flute
• MacBook laptop + charger
• Kingston 4GB DataTraveler USB thumb drive
• WD 320GB and 500GB Passport External USB Hard Drives
• Dropbox, Google Docs and Google Sites
• Canon Vixia HFR200 with charger, two 16GB SD cards and extra battery
• Nikon D-90 DSLR + charger
• Black Diamond Cosmo headlamp + AAA batteries
• Olympus FE-100
• Zoom H2 + included accessories
• iPhone + charger
• Vivitar tripod
• AA Rechargeable batteries and charger for Olympus and Zoom.
• Travel Office Supplies Kit
• Notebooks
• Agenda/Calendar for making appointments
• IRB Paperwork and Publication Permissions
• ATT GoPhone
• Ecuadorian phone
• Google Voice and Skype
• Copy of passport, visa application, visa
• Copy of Yellow Fever and other vaccinations I’ve received
• Medicine
• Gifts
• A couple pictures of friends, family, and loved ones.
• Clothes
• Earplugs
• Toilet paper and napkins.

That about covers my fieldwork preparations. Feel free to comment with some of the things you’ve taken with your or used during fieldwork, especially if you are conducting ethnographic field research, are an ethnomusicologist, or you’re someone working with sound as a primary source to document. I’d be interested to know what people working on a tighter budget have used, as well as those working to create professional level materials, such as documentaries in HD.

I’ll post again later this week once I am settled in Otavalo! Ashta kashkaman! (“Until next time” in Kichwa)

5 thoughts on “Striking out on Field Research – What’s in your bag?

  1. The Luggage
    • Samsonite Suitcase (Total weight: 43 lbs)
    Only a little larger than a large carry-on luggage. I’m trying out the four wheels/any direction kind of suitcase for the first time. Don’t forget to lay it down or not let go when you’re on a hill!

    • Victorinox backpack with laptop sleeve (slightly larger than a normal Jansport backpack)
    This was a gift given to me back in 2006. Basically, whatever you get, make sure it has back support and padding, since what may seem like small and not-too-heavy electronics can quickly add up to a heavy bag that is uncomfortable. Mine definitely weighed more than I wanted it to due to the laptop and the DSLR camera.

    The Kit and Materials
    • My violin and a flute

    • MacBook laptop + charger

    • Kingston 4GB DataTraveler USB thumb drive

    • WD 320GB and 500GB Passport External USB Hard Drives
    I left one in California as an off-site backup, and will keep the other, larger one with me in Ecuador. After fieldwork one of these will stay in New York with family and the other for daily back up with me in California.

    • Dropbox, Google Docs and Google Sites
    These services will be used to privately store documents digitally and off-site.

    • Canon Vixia HFR200 with charger, two 16GB SD cards and extra battery
    One of my friends used a Flip camera for her fieldwork and it generally worked well, but sometimes lack of memory and having to frequently download the videos onto her computer were an issue. I decided to go with this camera because I can have a lot more room for memory. This camera also has great reviews with other Mac users and has better low-light capabilities than other cameras in this price range. An extra bonus was that since Canon just came out with the next round of this model, I got this camera for almost 50% less than what it’s newer version is going for. Since most of my documenting will be video taping rehearsals and interviews, I knew that 1-3 hours was my targeted time for each session, which is why I went for two batteries. I also did not want to have too large of a memory card since in the past I’ve had ones stop working (and mysteriously begin working again), and did not want to risk losing access to a large portion of video.

    • Nikon D-90 DSLR + charger
    I got this camera for my M.A. field research and I’ve loved it. It was a good deal, (refurbished from Adorama.com) and has been working beautifully for me since 2009. In comparison to the point and shoot, I appreciate having more control over the camera settings, and one of my favorite features is rapidly taking action photos in sequence. The only thing I have not been enjoying as much with this is the weight/bulkiness of it. I may consider switching to a smaller camera like the Canon Powershot, but for now, I’m sticking with this Nikon.

    • Black Diamond Cosmo headlamp + AAA batteries
    I went for this model because of the option between floodlights and spotlight, and the ability to decrease the light intensity so I will not be burning anyone’s retinas! This extra light is something I can hold in my hand, tie to my head, or attach to another object so that I can film or photograph in darkness. I wanted to find external lighting like this to conserve battery energy with the Vixia and avoid flattening images with flash on the D-90.

    • Olympus FE
    Great in bright, outdoor lighting, and smaller than the Nikon, so if I’m going on a long trip by foot or am climbing a hill, it is something I can use that will be less bulky. Can be slow, doesn’t work as well in low-light, and does not have sound with the video feature.

    • Zoom H2 + included accessories
    I like the Zoom H2. It’s small, light, easy to use and makes good enough recordings for fieldwork and presentations. I do notice that even in a small space with the instruments close by and what seem to be high noise levels, the low or medium input settings still make the sound too quiet. If I decide to start investing in microphones, I will switch to the Zoom H4 or H4n for music recordings and keep the H2 for interviews.

    • iPhone + charger
    Just in case I need a quick back-up recorder on the fly, I will have my iPhone 3GS for quick and dirty pictures, sound and video recordings. This will also come in handy if I have to dictate any ideas I have for research in moments when writing them down is not as convenient or possible.

    • Vivitar tripod
    For use with the Canon, Nikon, and Zoom when I need to be doing something else (performing, taking pictures), or if I need a steadier hold of the camera (low-light photographing, or while video taping from a distance/using the zoom)

    • AA Rechargeable batteries and charger for Olympus and Zoom.

    • Travel Office Supplies Kit with: business cards, sharpie markers, pencils (mechanical and non-mechanical), post-it strips, crayons, pens (red, blue, & black), green and yellow highlighters, and mini scissors, tape dispensers, pencil sharpener, and stapler.

    • Notebooks
    Larger notebooks for writing down ideas, brainstorms, and taking notes of readings I find in archives or libraries. A journal with blank pages that will allow me to sketch if necessary, and four small moleskin notebooks that I can keep in small bags or pockets when traveling around. Some have lines that will help me diagram certain things and make musical transcriptions, and one flips up for quick note taking during interviews.

    • Agenda/Calendar for making appointments (just the standard one I’ve been using at school)

    • IRB Paperwork and Publication Permissions. I will be printing these once I get settled in Ecuador (this was to save on weight as I was traveling). I will scan and make pdfs of these as backups.

    • ATT GoPhone
    I switched my service (still on a 2 year contract, and to save my current US number) from the iPhone to a GoPhone on a family plan (using the transfer responsibility option). The phone cost $20 and my phone bill quickly went from $75/month to $9.99/month. Just an FYI if you try to do this, one of the ATT stores would not allow me to do this, causing a whole day of trying to work out this situation, but in the end it was because they were not a corporate store (and lied by not admitting that when asked). Once I found an actual corporate store, they transferred everything, no problem, in just a few minutes. If/when you do the transfer responsibility agreement, make sure you do it online so that the $18 fee is waived.

    • Ecuadorian phone
    When I was living in Spain it was definitely convenient to have a pay as you go phone. Later this week I will explore the options for getting an Ecuadorian number and phone/SIM card, including whether or not the GoPhone I have from the US would be compatible with Ecuador’s phone system.

    • Google Voice and Skype
    Making calls to the US from Ecuador were more expensive than I anticipated when I was here a couple summers ago. Lucky for me, Google Voice has free calls and texts to the US and Canada for all of 2012 (VPN connection is not necessary). People from home can message or call me and leave a voicemail or text (that’s essentially sent thru email), or if I’m connected to Gmail at the same time they dial my number, I can receive their call in real time and chat as if it were a phone.
    If I am able to purchase a strong enough wireless connection at the home where I am staying in Otavalo, I will use a free online number (US) for my skype account and will leave my iPhone on and connected to skype when home so that it will work as a regular phone.
    These may not be as immediate as calling a cell phone, but it will be free/cheaper for friends at home and save me the cost of subscriptions, call forwarding, and using up my minutes on the Ecuadorian phone.

    • Copy of passport, visa application, visa
    I made sure to back up the visa paperwork as pdf’s, and make photocopies of my passport that I leave in my violin case and keep on me when I’m out for the day. Leaving a copy with a family member or friend is a smart idea too.

    • Copy of Yellow Fever and other vaccinations I’ve received
    Just in case a trip to the coast or the Amazon comes up, I needed to be ready to have proof of Yellow Fever vaccination. It’s good for 10 years, so I got it while I knew I would have health insurance and could get it free of charge.

    • Medicine
    Last time I was in Ecuador I had a weird allergic/systemic reaction to something, most likely a bug bite. I woke up one morning and it looked like I had the chicken pox, but the 200+ little bumps felt more like super tiny pearls under the skin, itched like crazy, and took several weeks to go away. Everything I tried from a Western doctor to a yachak/shaman to home remedies failed to get them to go away or stop appearing. When I went to the farmacía to get something like Benedryl, I was told they only sell it with a prescription (and the Western doctor only wrote me a prescription for what was essentially diaper rash medicine to keep the spots from itching and becoming infected). This time around, I came ready with medicine from my primary physician, including a benedryl type anti-histamine for weird allergic reactions, and other things such as altitude sickness and traveler’s diarrhea.

    • Gifts
    Bringing gifts for host family members and friends is something you may want to consider. The last time I came to Ecuador, I brought lots of t-shirts and baseball caps for the family to distribute between adults and the young children. This time, since I am limited on space, I’m sticking to the basics: a nice sweater for my host mother and a nice button down shirt for my host father (in Kichwa culture, I’m learning, if I need to give anyone a gift, it should start with the heads of the household). In addition to this, I’m bringing some gifts for my soon to be goddaughter (a baptism dress and some children’s books that I will leave for her and her siblings).

    • A couple pictures of friends, family, and loved ones.

    • Clothes:
    I used about a third of my suitcase for my wardrobe. Since I will be washing everything by hand, I knew that for my own sanity and to avoid wearing out my wrists, I needed to keep it minimal! Basically, I needed to have something for a variety of temperatures, especially in case I go to other altitudes during my travels (plus I’ll have a quick trip back to NY and a steamy humid summer mid-way in July). Also, playing soccer is a common past time, so I felt it necessary to bring some clothes so that I could play comfortably. In general, if you have at least three of each article of clothing, you have enough where you can wear one item, have the other one being washed/dried (in my case, by hand and by the sun/wind, respectively), and a third piece of clothing dry and ready to be worn the next day or in case you get wet from rain or dirty from something else and need dry clothes.

    • Earplugs
    A necessity for any one who values their hearing, especially musicians. Our hearing is degenerative and plane trips are often long periods of exposure to loud white noise. I always wear them on the plane. They’re also useful when living in places that have a lot of traffic or have roosters in earshot of where you sleep (contrary to popular belief, they do not only crow at dawn!!)

    • Toilet paper and napkins.
    Hoard them!! Buy your own personal rolls once you get to your destination. I’ve found while traveling around Europe and Latin America that bathrooms are almost never stocked with any, or they charge you money for just a couple squares. And in case you catch a cold or have allergies, you can never have too many tissues! So next time you eat at a restaurant, swipe the unused napkins that will most likely be thrown away.

  2. Way to go best friend! Sounds like a great “survival kit” for anyone traveling.

  3. Pingback: Packing for Extended Field Research in the Upper Amazon « memetic shift

Leave a comment